sink (one's) teeth into (something)

(redirected from sink their teeth into)

sink (one's) teeth into (something)

To start doing or become involved in something with one's utmost energy, determination, or enthusiasm. I'm always looking for a great book to sink my teeth into. I'd like you to sink your teeth into this new project I'm developing.
See also: sink, teeth

sink one's teeth into

Also, get one's teeth into. Become fully engaged in, as in He couldn't wait to sink his teeth into that problem. This metaphoric expression alludes to an animal biting vigorously into its prey. [Early 1900s]
See also: sink, teeth

get/sink your ˈteeth into something

(informal) put effort and enthusiasm into something that is difficult enough to keep you interested: This job is too easy. Why can’t they give me something I can really get my teeth into?
See also: get, sink, something, teeth

sink one’s teeth into something

verb
See also: sink, something, teeth

sink (one's) teeth into

Informal
To undertake an endeavor energetically: She sank her teeth into the challenging project.
See also: sink, teeth
References in periodicals archive ?
Despite production delays, it's a good treat for Trekkies to finally have a full trailer to sink their teeth into.
Mr Erik Huyer, General Manager, Avari Towers, stated on the occasion that the German food festival was full of flavorful food choices for anyone wanting to sink their teeth into something sweet or savoury.
Birmingham v Bris City HAYDEN MULLINS promises Birmingham can't wait to sink their teeth into Bristol City to end their horror home form - and cheer up boss Lee Clark.
Fans of Christine Martucci and Melissa Etheridge will find plenty to sink their teeth into with Stages and Stones.
A story of religious intrigue and secrecy, "God's Elect" is something thriller fans will want to sink their teeth into.
"When I Remember Love" is simply a treat for romance fans who want something new to sink their teeth into.
CHELSEA travel to the home of Dracula in the Champions League tonight and punters have been scared to sink their teeth into the 1-2 about an away win against Cluj in Transylvania, writes Mark Langdon.
SUNDERLAND manager Roy Keane believes the Black Cats are ready to sink their teeth into the Barclays Premier League after signing former Liverpool striker Djibril Cisse.
On the professional development side, Slack offers challenging work for their young engineers and technical staff to sink their teeth into a variety of mining projects across Canada.
Today's readings seem to offer great stuff for preachers to sink their teeth into about financial stewardship.
Powell should be commended for bearing his soul, but the book does little to offer an agenda for change that cultural critics and hip-hop devotees can sink their teeth into. Rather it tells of one man's saga and his realization that the destination is irrelevant--it's the journey that is important.
Fans of vampire fiction will sink their teeth into this one!
It's not the vampire battles that inspire millions of fans to sink their teeth into the show--it's the smart take on life
Nor is there anything to sink their teeth into in Sharon Leahy's Reach (1995).
Desperate for an inside-the-beltway story they can really sink their teeth into now that the Senate Whitewater hearings are over, John McLaughlin et al.