web

(redirected from webs)
Also found in: Dictionary, Thesaurus, Medical, Financial, Acronyms, Encyclopedia.
Related to webs: Spider Webs

tangled web

A convoluted situation usually caused by some form of deception. The investigation revealed a tangled web of fraud among the members of the political party.
See also: tangled, web

a tangled web

A tangled web is a situation that is very confused and difficult to understand. This is only one of a series of troubling questions that are emerging from the tangled web of evidence connected to the case. It is sometimes difficult to cut through the tangled web of government information in order to work out the benefits you can claim.
See also: tangled, web

a tangled web

a complex, difficult, and confusing situation or thing.
This phrase comes from Sir Walter Scott 's epic poem Marmion ( 1808 ); ‘O what a tangled web we weave, When first we practise to deceive!’
See also: tangled, web
References in periodicals archive ?
74th St., Eden Prairie, MN 55344-3523 Phone: 612-829-2700 Fax: 612-829-2743 Web: www.surmodics.com
Sustaplast LP, 216 Philips Rd., Exton, PA 19342 Phone: 484-875-9040 Fax: 484-875-9030 Email: tbrown@sustaplast.com Web: www.sustaplast com
Box 1509, Florence, KY 41022 Phone: 859-283-8400, 800-807-9326 Fax: 859-283-8469 Email: info@sweco.com Web: www.sweco.com
Box 150, Hartford, CT 06141-0150 Phone: 860-522-1181, 800-628-0380 Fax: 860-249-5934 Email: mswiftandsons@snet.net Web: www.mswiffandsons.com
Box 516, Allenspark, CO 80510 Phone: 800-489-4433 Email: sl@ synchrocstat.com Web: www.synchrostat.com
We are always waiting for version 1." Web conferencing is at that version 1 level for her.
The instructors are using web conferencing almost as much as the course management system, she says.
Case Western Reserve University's School of Medicine in Cleveland is experimenting with a new program to more web conferencing beyond academics.
The university expanded the agreement earlier this year, so that the Johns Hopkins Center for Clinical and Global Health Education can do additional web conferencing to international medical centers and hospitals.
"We are using the Mediasite box to stream over the web," says Alex Nason, assistant director of Johns Hopkins Interactive.
Gary Ave, Carol Stream, IL 60188; 630/462-2267, FAX: 630/462-2202 Custom Publishing: Jeff Tennant, Mgr, 919/861-7667; Database, Custom Research: Bob Kaslik, 720/406-7342 Web site: www.farmprogress.com Year established: 1841 Number of employees: 200 Pres: Jeff Lapin (jlapin@farmprogress.com) Custom Publishing Mgr: Jeff Tennant (jtennant@farmprogress.com) Database, Custome Research Sales Mgr: Bob Kaslik (bkaslik@farmprogress.com) Database & Mktg Svcs: Kim Smith (ksmith@farmprogress.com) List Sales: Dawn Speckmann (dspeckmann@farmprogress.com) Products: Proprietary farmer/producer research data published annually as the USAgriculture Brandfile[R].
FARMAIL--A SERVICE OF FARM JOURNAL MEDIA (See advertisement in this section) 1818 Market St, 31st Fl, Philadelphia, PA 19103; 800/353-2767, FAX: 215/568-4221 Web site: www.farmjournalmedia.com Year established: 1982 Number of employees: 140 CEO: Andrew J.
* #150-251 Midpark Blvd S.E., Calgary, AB T2X 1S3; 403/256-9557, 888/256-9557, FAX: 888/861-8333 Web site: www.growthstage.com Year established: 1993 Number of employees: 8 Pres/CEO: Gordon Butcher (gbutcher@growthstage.com) Bus Dev Mgr: Mike Giles (mgiles@growthstage.com) Products: Using innovative crop and pest models with weather data to help clients/growers gain better performance and satisfaction from their ag inputs
THE JACKSON GROUP 5804 Churchman Bypass, Indianapolis, IN 46203-6109; 317/791-9000, 888/JACKSON, FAX: 317/791-9800 Web site: www.jacksongroup.com Year established: 1961 Number of employees: 250 CEO: Norm Cosand (ncosand@jacksongroup.com) Products: Integrated marketing solutions provider offering strategic planning, direct marketing, database development, mailing & lettershop services, Web site Development, email marketing, inbound & outbound call center services, literature & catalog fulfillment, commercial & digital printing, plus advertising and creative design
(See advertisement in this section) 10115 Hwy 142 N, Covington, GA 30014; 770/385-0009 ext 124, 800/637-8193, FAX: 770/385-0342 Web site: www.kellysolutions.com Year established: 1994 Number of employees: 11 Contact: Tom Johnson (tom@kellyreg.com) Products: Direct Marketing; List Purchase; Government services to State Departments of Agriculture